Mutrah Suq – The Old Market in Muscat, Oman

I spent the afternoon with my workmate down at the old market – Mutrah Suq, in the port area below the Mutrah Fort. The market caters to the tourists. Today the market was filled with tourists from the Cruise Liner in port. I heard lots of Italian and German spoken in the alleyways of the market. The offerings are colorful, overpriced but with a tremendous variety. I was on a mission to find loose beads for my mother…..a leftover request from my December trip. I found them, paid, I am sure too much even after the expected price reduction! Mission accomplished.

Need bulk spices? No need for Costco here!

Need bulk spices? No need for Costco here!

The colors, the sights and the smells in the Market Place are amazing.

The colors, the sights and the smells in the Market Place are amazing.

Waiting for the tourists - a lot like the spider and the fly!

Waiting for the tourists – a lot like the spider and the fly!

And I thought tis was just a walk way....how wrong I was!

And I thought this was just a walk way….how wrong I was!

Feral cats are everywhere in the city and even in the desert camps

Feral cats are everywhere in the city and even in the desert camps

The old obscured by the new

The old obscured by the new

It is amazing to see how much of the world still relies on "manpower"

It is amazing to see how much of the world still relies on “manpower”

Young boys dream of Cricket in the big oval!

Young boys dream of Cricket in the big oval!

Tired from a day of shop keeping!

Tired from a day of shop keeping!

newold Mutrah Fort overlooking the

The old Mutrah Fort overlooking the new city below

JBD_5620

 

Enjoy and travel safe

Bishop

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

